Taniasecret's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

From a Hobby to a Career


It happened exactly one month after my divorce, 7 years ago. I was a total ignorant when it came to computers, so I asked my sister to teach me how to use it. It took few days to learn the basics and get an ID in yahoo.I remember when she was trying..
  to teach me how to use online search engines I was shouting at her not to do different tasks at one time…and she was making fun of me, I thought if she opened a new page the old one will disappear.

After a month I managed to buy a pc, and get connected…hehehe…I was so slow…so confused…but I started to use the help page in each application and go on from there…in less than 1 month of day and night constant act of exploring, I was an expert in using different types of messengers, the office word, and surfing the net.

Then I started socializing, finding friends all over the world. I was an MA student doing my major in English literature. My thesis was about comparing the role of modern woman in the literature of Black America, the Arab world and Iran…tricky one…needed lots of work….I had to read lots of books online and do lots of researches, so I talked to different people. Sometimes I was asking them about problems I had and they guided me kindly, other times I used the help button or just kept searching through all the search engines for people who had the same problem and tried their solutions.

Since school days I was in love with physics and mathematics, why I got involved with studding literature for my masters is a long story I will tell later,

However; my desktop pc and the internet world became a puzzle that I had to solve mathematically…(it’s kind of hard to explain, I’ll try my best)…
My mind was an analyzer who would not just depend on luck to learn or solve an issue related to the IT world….
Why I jumped to the digits world…aha…just wanted to explain how my mind was working at the time exploring this new world.
So, let’s organize what I said here:

1. A divorced housewife who never stepped out her household, a complete IT ignorant started using her first pc.
2. Using the messenger and finding friends to talk to made it an appealing world to the housewife.
3. The master’s thesis needed more work, research, and online reading, so surfing the net was the next step I took.
4. Doing all that needed the use of office word, to type in my notes, summaries and conclusions.
5. Started using the help from the start for each application to ease my way out of the problems I face and to avoid the funny smile on my sis face.
6. All the time even in my dreams I was practicing what I learned and reviewing my mistakes.

One day, suddenly I found myself to be a real expert in managing whatever was related to this invention called pc…and yes my sis, not only one of them but all of them
( I have 4 sisters) started calling me at least twice a week asking about how to do a certain thing or use a certain application, or how to reinstall a new operating system, or get rid of a virus………YES… I WENT THAT FAR…..even more it was only last week when the netbook (simply saying a netbook is a small size laptop) I had suddenly stopped working…and it was out of warranty…so I brought my especial toolbox and took the escrow driver out to open the cover of the netbook and fix it…that was when I heard my sis husband making fun of what I was doing, HE IS AN “IT” EXPERT, I said nothing.. Just continued what I was doing…and yes my netbook was up and right working again after I did what I had to do…
I felt so proud of myself, I never attended any classes for that, I just tried constantly and insistently to learn what I had to learn to be good at what I really loved. This has opened the windows to a bigger world with lots of more opportunities in life for me which I will tell you about later.

I guess what I’m trying to say here is;
No matter how disappointed you are….
No matter how simple minded and ignorant you are…
No matter how much fun others make of what you do….
Always;

1. Find something that you’re enthusiastic about even if it scares you….
2. Get some help to start…
3. Then try as hard as you can to gather as much information as you can, and don’t be scared to ask silly questions.
4. Now with the information you gained spend days and nights trying, trying, and trying…
5. Never stop, even if you got disappointed…stop for an hour, a day, but not more than a week, and try again…
6. Probably you will fail lots of times or ruin lots of things….always review and go through what you did to learn from your mistakes.
7. One day, all of a sudden the miracle will happen and you will be in full command over what you were trying to accomplish, and you will feel so proud no matter how small the task was.
September 29, 2009 - Posted by | experience

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

